Lord’s booked because the venue for subsequent two ICC World Take a look at Championship finals

The Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC) Board has declared Lord’s because the venue for the following two World Take a look at Championship (WTC) finals in 2023 and 2025. The apex physique’s chairman, Greg Barclay, revealed that since there’s reduction from COVID-19, they’ll afford to carry the fixture at Lord’s.

The 2021 WTC ultimate befell on the Ageas Bowl in Southampton, the place New Zealand beat India by eight wickets. Tempo bowler Kyle Jamieson earned the participant of the match award for his seven wickets.

It was additionally the second time that New Zealand had clinched an ICC title. The sport was initially scheduled on the Mecca of Cricket earlier than the COVID-19 restrictions have been imposed by the UK authorities.

Chatting with the BBC’s Take a look at Match Particular, Greg Barclay acknowledged the next in regards to the occasion:

“It is June in order that guidelines out various different venues and we have to get certainty round the place it is hosted. We’re out of Covid now so topic to preparations being made and with the ability to be hosted out of Lord’s I believe that is the intention.”

The highest 9 groups are a part of the red-ball competitors and it runs over a two-year interval, with every Take a look at-playing nation that includes in six collection—three at residence and three away.

In the meantime, former cricketers VVS Laxman and Daniel Vettori have been inducted into the ICC Males’s Cricket Committee, headed by Sourav Ganguly. Former West Indian all-rounder Roger Harper has additionally been added as a previous participant consultant.

South Africa head the present ICC World Take a look at Championship desk

Within the present WTC standings, the Proteas are on the prime of the desk with 71.43 share factors and 5 wins alongside two losses. South Africa climbed to the summit after Australia misplaced the second Take a look at towards Sri Lanka at Galle. At present, the highest 4 groups are South Africa, Australia, Pakistan, and India.

Written by admin